By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

What is the best way to paint tank tracks?

Tracks for the Dragon tiger I (Ausf.E) mid production,w/zimmerit

All Topics | Latest Posts

Search for:  in Thread Title in  
Adrian Wright24/10/2008 16:37:00
17 forum posts
Hi all, As i'am new to military modelling i would like to ask for help in painting and weathering the tracks on a Dragon Tiger I (ausf.e) mid production,w/zimmerit.All it is asking me to do in the instuctions that came with this tank is to paint it in mr.colour 18 steel.What colours can be used instead of this one?
Mark Chisholm24/10/2008 19:19:00
2692 forum posts
1 photos

Im no expert but i will try to pitch in !

I would avoid that all steel colour -- it will look toy like in my opinion...

so what i do is --

1) spray all the tracks a matt black

2) dry brush on shades of brown/sand and red brown

3) apply 2 or 3 pigment tones to break up the tracks to create a worn and rusty look

4) get a 2b pencil or a graphic stick and rub across the tops of the tracks to give a metal type sheen to the track cleats

I want to post some pics but i dont know how?

can i ask? does it have "magic tracks" if so how did you get on with them?

cheers Mark

vanhall24/10/2008 22:09:00
2220 forum posts
1649 photos
12 articles

Hi Adrian'

The Tiger's tracks were made from Manganese (as was the drive sprocket), which unpolished has a very dark brown colour. For this reason I usually paint my tracks Dark Brown. I use Lifecolor's acrylic 'SchokoladenBraun' UA205 or Humbrol's matt 160 for enamel, but any Dark Brown colour from any paint maker would do. Then I give the tracks a dry brush with a 'Steel' colour to highlight the 'worn/polished' edges. And finally I give the tracks a wash with black oil just to darken all the crooks and crannies and tone down the 'Steel' colour.

The best pic I have of the Brown colour: